The Stitchin’ Post

cross stitching and musings of daily life

Happy Dance and Startitus December 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — kellieps3 @ 12:41 am

I finished Lizzie Kate’s Christmas is Forever kit this week. I really enjoyed stitching this one and was kind of sad to see it end. Hopefully I will get it framed or finished into something by next Christmas.

Lizzie Kate Christmas is Forever

Lizzie Kate Christmas is Forever

 

I have also had a bad case of “startitus” this week. I have started three new projects, and probably would have started more if I had had all the various threads that I needed. I had ordered some stash in the last couple of weeks, and it has been arriving this past week. Everything that I pull out of the mailbox, I want to start immediately. 🙂 I will have several projects to choose from for my New Year’s Day start. This week I started Little House Needlework’s Gingerbread Trio, Blue Ribbon Designs Peppermint Twist, and Praiseworthy Stitches’s Simple Gifts: Love.

LHN Gingerbread Trio

LHN Gingerbread Trio

 

Blue Ribbon Designs Peppermint Twist

Blue Ribbon Designs Peppermint Twist

 

Love

Praiseworthy Stitches Simple Gifts: Love

I decided to use basically the same colors with the Simple Gifts sampler but to reverse them, making red the predominant color and the charcoal gray the secondary color. I think I am really going to like the look. I chose to use Belle Soie Sister Scarlet and Noir instead of the recommended threads that the design calls for. I love the Belle Soie silks. I don’t have many, but I love stitching with them. I can easily see this being a new collection/obsession. I have stitched several of the LHN thread packs and a La D Da sampler using them, and they are divine. So smooth to work with.

Simple Gifts

Simple Gifts

We had a snow day today. I love winter weather. We got more ice than snow, but it was enough to call school off, and we all spent the day indoors at home. We are off again tomorrow, but I suspect we will go back on Thursday. DH and I (mostly DH) cleaned the playroom and decluttered toys in anticipation of  Christmas. DS played next door at the cousins’  house most of the afternoon. Then the cousins stayed with us while my BIL and SIL went out to a movie to celebrate their anniversary. Needless to say, they all had a great time. Since I can sleep in tomorrow, I think I will stay up until the wee hours, watching TV and working on the Gingerbread Trio some more.

Until next time….

Kellie

 

2 Responses to “Happy Dance and Startitus”

  1. LoriRay Says:

    Hello, fellow sufferer. I, too, have a horrible case of “startitis”. Let’s embrace our illness and just keep starting projects! LOL 😉

    LoriRay 🙂

  2. […] yesterday and today.  I started this one in late December, where I showed the very beginning in this post. After a lot of stitching yesterday and some today, here’s where it is […]


Leave a Reply

