The Stitchin’ Post

cross stitching and musings of daily life

Mermaids of the Deep Blue September 17, 2008

Filed under: Mirabilia — kellieps3 @ 4:50 pm

I started this project some time ago. I quickly got frustrated with it because I was having a hard time distinguishing between stitches and beads on the pattern. I kept going back over areas thinking I had forgotten stitches realizing that those “missing” stitches were places where a bead was attached. This piece has TONS of beads. I recently pulled it back out and decided that I would bead it as I stitched it. I have never worked a piece this way before, but I think I am going to like it. I stitch in hand. I think I would be reluctant if I used a hoop or q-snaps. I love how it is working up so quickly. I placed an order with 123 stitch on Sunday for the rest of the beads, treasures and Kreiniks that I needed to complete this one. I received them in the mail today, and I thought that was super fast. 🙂 I think I am becoming a bit Mirabilia obsessed. I have added several to my collection in the last week, and have several more on my wishlist. I don’t know where I am going to find the time to stitch them all, but collecting them is almost as much fun as stitching them.  My pic is a little blurry and really doesn’t do her justice. But I am using all of the recommended threads and fabric for this one. Someday I am going to try a conversion or some of that wonderful hand dyed fabric that I have seen stitchers use for these designs. They are incredible!

Mermaids of the Deep Blue WIP

Mermaids of the Deep Blue WIP

On a different note, our church has hosted a revival this week. Tonight is the last night and it has been really good. I have enjoyed it tremendously. It has made me think a lot about my own attitudes and willingness to help those in need, those who need ministry, the ministry that I do, not only in church but outside of the church walls, the gifts and talents that God has blessed me with that I can use for Him, and if am I using them accordingly. Much to contemplate…
 

One Response to “Mermaids of the Deep Blue”

  1. Dianne Says:

    It looks great! I love Mirabilia too, and although I’ve started about 3, I don’t think that I’ve ever finished one 🙂


Leave a Reply

